UNDERSTANDING INSURANCE COVERAGE IN FLORIDA
April 29, 2022
If you’ve been injured in an accident in Florida, you will most likely have to deal with insurance. After all, insurance coverage and personal injury incidents are inextricably linked. In these situations, you need to understand your options for recovering compensation for your damages.
This can be a very complex time, both emotionally and financially. It is vital to have a knowledgeable and experienced attorney helping you every step of the way, ensuring that your rights are being protected and that you pursue fair compensation. As a skilled personal injury attorney and former litigator who represented insurance companies, I am familiar with exactly how insurance companies evaluate, process, and handle claims. My firm—Steven J. Litvack, P.A.— proudly serves Florida clients in Boca Raton, Palm Beach County, Delray Beach, Boynton Beach, Deer Field Beach, Coral Springs, Coconut Creek, and the rest of the state.
PERSONAL INJURY CLAIMS IN FLORIDA
Personal injury law in Florida encompasses any harmful act, intentional or accidental, for which the law can provide a solution. In terms of insurance, Florida is a “no-fault” state, meaning that you have insurance to cover some of your own injuries, rather than insuring to pay out to the other person.
INSURANCE REQUIREMENTS IN FLORIDA
The only two required forms of insurance are personal injury protection (PIP), which pays for most of your medical bills after an injury, and property damage liability, which covers damage you might cause to other people's property. Again, these are mandatory insurance requirements that apply to anyone in Florida. The minimum requirements for insurance coverage are:
$10,000 for personal injury protection (PIP)
$10,000 for property damage liability (PDL)
Most—but not all—medical costs will be covered by PIP. In other states, PIP will typically cover the injuries of anyone in your household, but in the state of Florida, you can choose whether you want your PIP to cover just you or other residents in your home. The following are eligible for a PIP claim:
Medical services and medication
Surgical services and hospital expenses
Florida differs from most other states in that only 80% of your medical costs will be covered by PIP. Unlike almost every other state, Florida does not require bodily injury liability insurance—but it is still recommended that you carry it.
PROPERTY DAMAGE LIABILITY INSURANCE
Property damage liability (PDL) pays to repair the property of others if you're at fault in an accident. For example, if you lose control of your vehicle and rear-end another driver, property damage liability coverage would pay for repairs to the other car.
While the required limit to carry is at least $10,000 of liability coverage, it is recommended to buy more. Adding additional liability coverage is not incredibly expensive and can save you from having to pay thousands of dollars out of pocket if you're responsible for a car wreck. Keep in mind that this coverage does not pay for damage to your own car or your personal property.
BODILY INJURY LIABILITY INSURANCE
Florida does not require you to carry bodily injury liability (BIL) insurance, though many consider it advantageous to add this coverage. This protects you if you have a car accident in which other individuals are harmed because of your negligence.
Remember, even though Florida is a no-fault state, an injured individual could still sue you for damages if the damages are extensive or they go beyond what your minimum insurance requirements may cover.
COMPREHENSIVE REPRESENTATION YOU CAN TRUST
Insurance companies are for-profit companies. They want to resolve claims as cheaply as possible. Whether it is your own insurance company or the at-fault party’s insurance company, they have one goal: pay out as little as possible. If you have been injured, I am well prepared and ready to fight for you. Call me at Steven J. Litvack P.A. in Boca Raton today to schedule a free consultation.